Organizing the World’s Sabermetric Research, Part 4 – Designing a Database

Here’s an idea of how much other stuff has gone on in my life: I talked about building a sabermetric research database 11 months ago. Version 1 has yet to be published. Much like my postings here at this blog, the time to work on this project has been sporadic. That inconsistency made designing the database challenging.

While I did pick up a minor in computer science while an undergrad, I’ve been primarily a user, rather than a designer, of databases ever since. I know the basic principles of database design, but designing one with minimal experience from years ago is not easy. So I looked for examples.

I started with the best example of a database I knew of for recording information on various printed and recorded materials: the digital library catalog. I couldn’t get access to the database schema that a real library uses, but did manage to find an example. Granted, this example of an entity-relationship diagram covers only books, but it was a start. It affirmed 3 different base tables that were pretty obvious to me based on what I wanted when I first talked about the design: author, book, and category. The intermediate link tables between book and author and book and category were something I didn’t have in mind at first, but incorporating those kind of link tables for the underlying database is actually a key element of a third normal form relational database. The link tables will help with database organization.

I also found the schema for a database that served as an inspiration for this idea. As a statistician with a slight academic bent working in industry, one of my resources is the Current Index of Statistics. While their schema wasn’t displayed in a nice entity-relationship diagram, it is available in code form. Of course, there are many things the CIS is interested in that I am not, but the schema follows the core idea of third normal form: each element of the data needs its own table.

All this matters because I want to make sure I record all the information for the DB with a few passes through the material, and knowing which pieces of information to collect is critical to that process. A few of the elements I want to collect are universal to all of the material types I discussed in Part 2, with a few notes on the columns

  • Author – first and last name, with a key built using the same logic as the Retrosheet player ID
  • Publisher – name and city. The name could be the key, but I think creating a shortened version of the name will be a better key and make queries easier.
  • Citations – The heart of this project. Just a listing of two publication IDs, one being the piece of research cited in the other. At one point early on, I considered including page numbers, but that seems to be more effort than it’s worth at this point and could be added later.
  • Subject – The subject list needs to be uniform across all media types. The subject table will be like the Citations table, with a publication ID and a column identifying the subject. I’m thinking that the subject list will be coded to help conserve disk space as this database grows. Players and teams can be included as subjects, and I’ll use the same codes as Retrosheet.

The other tables are specific to different media types:

  • Book – publication ID, title, author IDs, publisher ID, publication year, ISBN. Books only published electronically will be treated the same as printed books. Publication IDs will start with “b” to denote book. ISBN would be the key for this table if it weren’t for the need for a unified key across the other media types that can’t be identified that way.
  • Article – publication ID, title, author IDs, journal ID, publication date, start page, end page, URL. This should work for both journals and magazines. Publication IDs will start with “a” to denote article. I’m also including URL since so much of what’s in print is migrating to or simultaneously published online nowadays.
  • Journal – journal ID, journal name, publisher ID, domain URL. Magazines are included here as well; journal ID is just so that the field name is distinct from other fields in the database.
  • Presentations – publication ID, title, author IDs, speaker IDs, presentation date, conference ID. I separate out the speaker and the author IDs only because not all authors will present and, in rare instances, someone else presents who didn’t the author the presentation. Publication IDs will start with “p”
  • Conference – conference ID, conference name. I’m not going to list each annual conference separately, as that can be inferred by the presentation date when these two tables are linked. This will just be to identify different conferences and conventions (e.g. SABR, JSM, NESSIS, SaberSeminar, etc.)
  • Web articles – publication ID, title, author IDs, website ID, publication date, URL. The web is a nebulous place, and the article I read today may be different than what I read tomorrow, but reputable online sites will note original publication date and edits if they occur, so I’m not worried about that as an issue. Publicaiton IDs will start with “w”
  • Websites – website ID, website name, domain URL. Pretty straight forward. I don’t want to combine this with the Journal table so that it uses few columns

If you’ve stuck with me this far, I’m going to add one last note about how I’m building this database. I’m breaking up my exploration into 3 eras to help with identifying and finding sabermetric research. The first era ends with the publication of The Hidden Game of Baseball. That’s my starting point for this project and that book marks a pretty significant milestone in sabermetric history. I also feel that going backwards in time from 1984 will be of more value to the sabermetric community, and it will allow me to focus on printed material initially. The second era is the period between 1984 and 1996, which is mostly printed material. 1996 is the year Baseball Prospectus was founded, and it serves as a proxy for the start of the explosion of sabermetric research courtesy of the Internet. The Internet era (1996-present day) will be handled last.

Version 1 will hopefully be ready in the next few months, and if it isn’t published by the start of SABR 45 at the end of June, this project will have been abandoned.

Leave a Reply

